Low Key selfportrait

Internet tips and tricks, people

Hi,

I had to make a selfportrait today for an article in the Dutch online magazine EOSZINE.

after some web-surfing, I stumbled on this youtube video: about low key portraits anywhere.

Basic principles are: fast as possible shutter, and small aperture will get the environment black. The flash will light up the subject (me). Since I have not really finished my Studio, I thought I’d give it a try.

This picture was taken with my ‘old’ EOS 450D and the 50mm f1.8

Setup: flash just left of me, trough umbrella 105cm, 580EX II flash at 1/8th power, manual mode. Triggered with Cactus V5 transmitter.

Camera: 1/250th f9.0 ISO200

(actually the camera doesn’t sync at 1/250, it has a max sync speed of 1/200 but the black band is hidden in the black backround on the left side)

3 thoughts on “Low Key selfportrait

    1. Hey Eduardo, I think I now really found what I love doing the best. So there is hope actually. Thank you for your nice comment. I’ve gotten some really nice comments on my current exhibit too. Spread the word! Big hug!

Leave a Reply

